View More

Henry Miller's Theatre

Henry Miller’s Theatre opened in 1918, located at 124 W. 43rd Street. It was constructed by architect H.C. Ingalls and produced by Henry Miller. George Gershwin’s first complete Broadway score, La, La, Lucille, premiered here in 1919. The venue showcased stars such as Noel Coward, Leslie Howard, Helen Hayes, and Ruth Chatterton. In 1929, R.C. Sherriff’s Journey’s End received its premiere, and Thornton Wilder’s Our Town premiered in 1938. In early 1970s Times Square, Henry Miller’s Theatre was also known as the Park-Miller and Avon-at-the-Hudson, and the theatre went through phases as a pornographic movie house and a discotheque. It returned to its roots as a legitimate theatre with 1997’s long-running revival of Cabaret. In 2010, Henry Miller’s Theatre was renamed in honor of Stephen Sondheim.