View More

Gallo Opera House
 

Fortune Gallo produced the Gallo Opera Theatre in 1927, located at 254 W. 54th Street and designed by architect Eugene De Rosa. The venue housed Antoinette Perry in Sophocles’ Electra, and Oscar Hammerstein II received a production of his work Rainbow. After the 1929 stock market crash forced its foreclosure, the theatre was renamed the New Yorker and premiered Ibsen’s The Vikings in 1930. Plagued by flops, the Gallo Opera Theatre found new life as a successful nightclub, the Casino de Paris, and later the Palladium and Federal Music Theatre. It was transformed into the famed disco Studio 54 in 1977 and later restored and returned to legitimate theatre in the late 1990s. The theatre currently stands as Studio 54, operated by the Roundabout Theatre.